I am an impulsive buyer, so I need to shop with my wife or daughter. They help me navigate the urge to splurge on decadent treats. However, they fail me nine times out of ten when it comes to chocolate bars.
As a coeliac, not every chocolate bar is suitable for me, so I’ve done research and had numerous checks with my doctor over the years, and here is what you need to know about Cadbury Crunchie bars if you’re on a gluten-free diet.
Is Cadbury Crunchie Gluten Free?
Yes, standard UK Cadbury Crunchie bars are gluten-free. While they lack an official “certified gluten-free” symbol on the front of the packet, the ingredient list contains zero gluten or wheat-based components.
For many coeliacs, the lack of an explicit gluten-free certification raises a valid concern: Could the Cadbury facility be handling gluten-containing products, leading to cross-contamination? To rule out any hidden risks, I contacted Cadbury directly to see how they handle manufacturing and trace warnings. Here is their official guidance:
Thank you for contacting us regarding Cadbury Crunchie.
As recipes and manufacturing conditions can change from time-to-time, it’s not possible for us to publish a definitive list of our products that are suitable for specific dietary requirements. We advise you to always ensure that you read the label of any product before consuming it and not rely solely on any information given online.
By law, we must declare on our packaging if any of these main 14 allergens are present in a product: Celery, Cereals containing gluten, Crustaceans, Eggs, Fish, Lupin, Milk, Molluscs, Mustard, Nuts, Peanuts, Sesame Seeds, Soya, Sulphites. We mark this by clearly putting the text in ‘bold’, within the ingredient list. You may also find allergens marked in a different colour or in CAPITAL LETTERS, so they stand out better.
Sometimes, our products may not contain allergens in their recipe but could run the risk of potential cross-contamination. The pack will then display a “may contains…” statement at the end of the ingredients list.
We can assure you that all our products will always have the current information stated on the packaging, which reflects the recipe and manufacturing conditions in place at the time of production.
With this helpful response, coeliacs should often consult the label for the latest ingredient and allergen information to serve as a guardrail against gluten.
A peek into the ingredients
Each bite of a Cadbury Crunchie bar gives off a biscuit-esque snap that will instantly make you wonder if it contains wheat flour. However, this is the effect of the gluten-free boiled sugar, glucose, and baking soda, which form the ‘cinder toffee’ core.
The chocolate shell comes from cocoa and skimmed milk powder, providing that alluring enclosure of the honeycomb center.
That unmistakable sensation of the Crunchie bar melting when it hits your tongue is made possible by milk fat (gluten-free), which lowers the chocolate melting point.
Other ingredients include coconut oil and palm oil, whey permeate powder, emulsifiers, and flavorings, which are usually gluten-free, but this can change.
Crunchie Variations You Should Avoid (Not Gluten-Free)
While the Cadbury Crunchie bar is safe, some other Cadbury products contain different ingredients that don’t fit a gluten-free diet.
- Crunchie Rock: These bite-sized bags are not suitable for gluten-free diets, as they contain barley.
- Australian-manufactured Crunchie bars: These bars explicitly warn, “May contain gluten and wheat.” So if you’re in Australia, you may want to check for such warnings.
- Dairy Milk Crunchie Bits Sharing Bars: Ironically, the phrase “sharing is caring” will not apply here. These bars also carry an explicit warning: “may contain gluten.” Making them off-limits for people with coeliac disease.
Cadbury bars to check
Besides Cadbury Crunchie bars, plenty of other chocolate bars can curb your sweet tooth. As always, their gluten status depends on your country, so check the packaging for “may contain gluten/wheat” or “not gluten free.”
- Cadbury Twirl
- Cadbury Flake
- Cadbury Turkish Delight
- Cadbury Curly Wurly
- Cadbury Fudge
- Cadbury Chomp
Final Take
Yes, Cadbury Crunchies are gluten-free because they contain no gluten-containing ingredients, but keep in mind that ingredients could vary over time.
It is good practice to carefully check the ingredient list of the products you intend to eat to curb your cravings.
If you love baking or making treats like me, making your own chocolate bars gives you greater control over the ingredients and preparation process.