Having managed coeliac disease for some years, I’ve always gotten my hands messy in the kitchen, as I have to make most things myself, and most of my guilty pleasures can’t be discussed without mentioning chocolate.
The word ‘crunchies’ in the UK typically evokes thoughts of a chocolate bar with a honeycomb centre; this can be Cadbury’s, Galaxy’s, Violet’s, and the list goes on.
So, do they contain gluten? I have researched these products, and by the end of this read, you should be able to tell which Crunchies are safe for people with coeliac disease.
Are Crunchies Gluten Free?
Standard Crunchies bars contain no gluten-containing ingredients (no wheat, rye, or barley) and are considered gluten-free. However, the absence of gluten in a product doesn’t automatically make it safe for coeliacs.
For any chocolate bar I stock up on, I identify red flags such as a capitalised, underlined, or bolded allergen on the ingredient list or a “may contain wheat” warning.
I also check the product specifications on Erudus or Lynas, as manufacturers typically specify whether the product contains gluten-containing cereals or if it is suitable for coeliacs when supplying these wholesalers.
However, since the above isn’t certified laboratory testing, I usually go a layer further by messaging the manufacturers to seek clarification on the gluten status of their product, and boy, they are usually vague.
So, we are usually left with two options: either adopt products that don’t list gluten ingredients and don’t contain the “may contain gluten” warning, or go for products with the outright gluten-free stamps which ca
The following assertions are based on ingredient assessment and not a guarantee against cross-contamination:
Cadbury
Crunchie bars and Crunchy Rocks
While there is no official gluten-free inscription on the wrapper, the Standard Cadbury Crunchy bars are gluten-free based on their ingredients. However, the same does not apply to Cadbury Crunchy Rocks, which contains barley.
When I emailed Cadbury for explicit details on the gluten status of the Crunchie bar, they replied with a guide on how to spot gluten-containing ingredients rather than a direct yes/no. You can read up on that in the link in the paragraph above.
A further search on Erudus confirms that Crunchie lists no gluten-containing ingredients, but it shows “no data” on whether the product is suitable for coeliacs. You can inspect the document here.
Cadbury Dairy Milk Crunchy Bits
This is a great gift for kids and adults alike, but will it be for coeliacs? The Cadbury Dairy Milk Bits label includes a ”may contain wheat” warning directly below the ingredient list, making it not suitable for coeliacs. This is subject to change, so always check the current packaging.
Cadbury Crunchie Easter Eggs & Crunchie Ultimate Egg
Going by the ingredients. Cadbury Crunchies Eggs are gluten-free. Only milk was listed as an allergen in Large Eggs, then soya and milk for the Ultimate Egg variation.
Cadbury Crunchie Blast Ice Cream Sticks
If you have ever had some Crunchies and went, “I need a chilled, creamier version,” then consider these ice cream sticks to fulfil your wish. Cadbury Crunchie Ice Cream Sticks have no listed gluten-containing ingredients, making it gluten-free.
Other Gluten-Free Crunchie Alternatives
Galaxy
Galaxy has two honeycomb-flavoured treats, but I’d focus on the gluten-free one: The Galaxy Dairy Free Honeycomb Chocolate Bar. Galaxy Chocolates makes a dairy-free range with six flavours, all made in a gluten-free environment, according to the company.
This 40 g bar is packed with honeycomb pieces, cocoa, hazelnut paste, rice flour, palm fat, shea fat, cocoa butter, glucose syrup, sodium bicarbonate, soya lecithin and flavourings. All those ingredients are gluten-free. I really like this bar. It’s one of my substitutes for the regular Cadbury Crunchie bar.
Violet Crumble
If you’re looking for an identical alternative to the Crunchie bar, then this should be your go-to. Like Galaxy’s dairy-free Crunchie, Violet Crumble is gluten-free not just based on the ingredients, but as stated by the manufacturer, Menz.
Violet Crumble Vs Cadbury Crunchie bars
Violet Crumble and Cadbury Crunchie are both chocolate-coated honeycomb bars and don’t list any wheat-containing ingredients.
Violet Crumble has a stronger documented assurance for coeliacs, as its manufacturer claims it is gluten-free. Cadbury Crunchie, on the other hand, has no publicly established suitability for coeliacs.
However, I do indulge in Cadbury Crunchie occasionally, like I do many other products without an actual gluten-free stamp that doesn’t list any gluten-containing ingredients. This shouldn’t fuel your decision to indulge. As always, do your due diligence.
Are Crunchies Gluten-Free in the UK?
The standard Cadbury Crunchie bars in the UK don’t list gluten-containing cereals or a “may contain wheat” warning. Making them gluten free by ingredients. However, there is no obvious gluten-free certification.
Final Thoughts
Based on the information reviewed, Violet Crumble and Galaxy Dairy Free Honeycomb have explicit gluten-free statements backed by their manufacturers. Making them more suitable crunchies for people with coeliac disease.
Cadbury Crunchie, which only lists non-gluten-containing ingredients, doesn’t have an explicitly declared gluten-free status.
When picking up any Crunchie bar, regardless of the brand, always scan the ingredient list for possible wheat allergens or warnings.